Witness & Photographer Of Modern Day Slavery

Lisa Kristine... #161 'Curious Worldview Podcast'

hey mate! Just in case you’ve been forwarded this email but would like to subscribe - click the link here.

Witness & Photographer Of Modern Day Slavery

Lisa Kristine is an adventurer, humanitarian & fine art photographer. 

She’s taken some of the most devastating but as well beautiful photos you are ever likely to see. 

She recorded an incredibly moving a TED talk about her work photographing modern slavery. It’s an absolute must view. But her work has also been featured all over the globe, she sells internationally, she’s completely independents, she’s a superstar photographer. 

This episode is best consumed alongside Matthew Friedman. Together these two episodes reveal the shocking reality of modern day slavery. There are more people right now who are slaves than ever has been in our species history… and barely anyone knows it.

Forward this email or share this podcast episode with someone who would be moved by these photos.

Here is a transcript of the opening exchange from the conversation…

Ryan
You first left the US when you were 18. Now more than 112 countries later and having barely slowed down, how do you think travel has changed in your lifetime?

Lisa Kristine
All right. Well, I'll tell you as a photographer what's changed. For so many years, you know, I've used a four by five view camera and you know, these big sheets of film. And it's much harder now to travel with film because you have to go through such scrutiny at checkpoints, right? Like when you go through TSA and security around the world. And what that requires of me is to bring, you know, bring a translator in, get special permissions so that they can walk me through the security so I can protect my film. That's what's changed. I think travel is amazing. One other thing that I'll touch upon is...

You know, my work is from over 150 countries, actually.

And it used to be sort of like I would drop into a place and it was just me and these spectacular, amazing humans. And because the world has gotten so much smaller vis-a-vis our iPhones, et cetera, people are everywhere. There is very few stones unturned, so to speak, in the notion of travel. And now I feel like going to these faraway places, it's for me a little bit diluted. And what would concern me most about that is the idea that...

people who are living their lives close to the earth and in these small communities where their culture is intact in remote places are being to some degree unintentionally exploited by visitors and everybody making photographs with their iPhone or cameras, no different than myself, but different. So I'm not saying I have a right above anyone else because that's foolish and silly.

But that to me is a little concerning. And I don't know what will happen to these people when they're reliant upon money that they get from tourists or whatever it is, how that will change their culture. So that's how I think it's changed.

Ryan
Can you give an example, a first-hand experience of how the world has gotten smaller?

Lisa Kristine
Yeah, I mean, the world has gotten smaller in my mind, definitively because of technology and the ability to discover so easily and to share discoveries so easily. And that's a wonder and a marvel, and it's so cool. And on the counter side of that, in our dualistic universe, you know, it's also, I think less discoverable as someone that arrives into that situation and intimately is in the face of people living elsewhere and getting to know them. I think there's two sides of the coin, like there are in all things, you know?

Ryan
So this is in remote indigenous places. What about large cities that you're going to? Is it the same phenomenon?

Lisa Kristine
Large cities have always been visited by most outside of the intimate community of millions of people in a city. Rome and Paris and San Francisco and all these great marvels have been visited over time by many. I mean, they're multicultural. They're cosmopolitan, so to speak, right?…

Reply

or to participate.